College students don’t need to have a driver’s license. However, having a driver’s license makes life a lot easier. But first, knowing where to get your driver’s license before going to college will be a big help.
Where to Get Your Drivers License Before Going to College
Knowing where to get your drivers license before going to college can make the entire college experience easier. The first thing to note is that in California, teens under the age of 17.5 must complete a driver’s education course, take the written test, get a learner’s permit, and then apply for a driver’s license and take the driving test.
Teens over 17.5 years old do not need to attend driver’s education. However, they must still wait 6 months after they receive a learner’s permit before they can apply for a driver’s license and take the driving test. Only teens 18 or over can skip driver’s education and the learner permit stages of getting a driver’s license.
Teens are usually between the ages of 17 and 18 when they graduate high school and head off to college. That means these rules are essential for you if you want to know where to get your drivers license before going to college.
Teens Under 17.5 Years Old Drivers License
The first step is to find a driver’s education course that suits you and complete the course. Then, teens can complete the steps as usual, i.e., written test, learner’s permit, 6-month practice period, driving test, and driver’s license.
The question is, where to get your drivers license before going to college? Students will be doing a lot of prep work before heading out on their life journey. This means that staying close to home for a while is easier. However, teens under the age of 18 can take their driving test at any DMV in California and receive a California driver’s license.
Teens 18 or Over Drivers License
Things change drastically for teens who are 18 years old or older when it comes to getting a driver’s license in California. These teens do not need to attend driver’s education. However, the safest option is still attending driving school and learning California’s driving laws.
Otherwise, students can skip driver’s education altogether. Instead, these teens will go straight to the DMV for their driver’s test. Of course, the test must be scheduled ahead of time, and there is paperwork and fees that must be taken care of first.
But once again, we are left with the question, where to get your drivers license before going to college? The answer is the same; teens can take a driving test at any California DMV and receive a license.
Driver’s License in The Mail
There is one last note that is important for teens who are about to head out to college. The DMV handles many different situations, which means there is always a backlog of things it is working on. Unfortunately, you will not be given a hard copy of your driver’s license at the DMV after a driving test.
Instead, you will receive a paper copy that will be accepted if you get pulled over but may only be accepted in some places. The DMV will mail the driver’s license to the address on the driver’s license application. The wait time is three to four weeks before a hard copy of your driver’s license arrives in the mail.
So be sure to prepare for that wait time if you wait until just before you leave for college to get a driver’s license.