Teens who get their license need to follow specific driving rules before they turn 18 years old. The driving rules are slightly different for both 16 and 17 year olds. That is why it is important to know the driving rules for 17 year olds in California.
Driving School for 17 Year Olds
Driving rules for 17 year olds in California are meant to ensure they are protected against their inexperience. Students can start the learning process at age 15 ½. It starts by attending driving school, then passing a written test, then passing the driving test.
However, teens that are over the age of 17 are not required to go to driving school in California. This means teens can schedule their written test as soon as they turn 17 without even opening a DMV handbook. However, it is highly recommended that teens over the age of 17 take classes anyway.
These classes are meant to teach students the rules of the road so they can avoid getting a ticket or worse. The classes also instruct students everything they will need to know in order to pass the written test.
Teens who are 17 will get a provisional license if they pass both the written test and the driving test. A provisional license is a license that allows teens to drive freely, but with specific rules. Students who take the option to get started at 15 ½ will only need to drive for 12 months.
The same could be said for students who get started at age 17. However, the provisional license will only be provisional until the student is 18 years old. They will be expected to know everything necessary to avoid causing an accident and drive safely.
What are the driving rules for 17 year olds in California with a provisional license? Driving alone is one of those rules. Teens will be allowed to drive alone in a car once they have a license. However, that provision could be strengthened if the driver has caused an accident or received a ticket.
For example, one common punishment for breaking driving laws with a provisional license is the added requirement of having someone over the age of 25 in the car while driving. But teens must also follow the passenger rule. That is to say, that no one under the age of 25 is allowed in the vehicle unless there is someone over the age of 25 in the car as well or the 12-month waiting period is over.
There is a provision that restricts teens from driving between the hours of 11 pm and 5 am. This provision falls off after the teen has had their license for 12 months. However, things get a little confusing when that teen is already over 17 years old.
The law suggests that the provision lasts 12 months. However, provisions often end after the teen turns 18. It’s a whichever comes first scenario. For example, teens must not drive during those hours for the first year of having a license or until they turn 18, whichever comes first.